Day 3/31: The authority of the Word of God

Standard

31 days of prayer for your future husband/husband

Yesterday we prayed about following commandments in the Word with understanding.Its good to know that it may be hard to obey what the Word says when you don’t believe its authoritative.As people,we tend to be selective when it comes to what we should obey based on our strengths,weaknesses,capabilities,situations,etc.For example we usually have no problem believing the Word of God when it comes to prosperity,we believe God prospers us but when it comes to obeying what the Word says about submission or giving,fornication,teachings about the Holy Spirit etc,we have a problem.This is usually because of what we grew up being taught,what people around say and some teachers of the Word teach.We should note very well that some doctrines have been mistaught in the church/body of Christ so we should get in the habit of studying the Bible ourselves and finding the truth not just wait for pastors,teachers and preachers to preach to you.It is not duty of pastors to study the Word for us,we ought to study it too.

Here are some scriptures on why the Word of God is authoritative
1.“All Scripture is God-breathed [given by divine inspiration] and is profitable for instruction, for conviction [of sin], for correction [of error and restoration to obedience], for training in righteousness [learning to live in conformity to God’s will, both publicly and privately–behaving honorably with personal integrity and moral courage] so that the man of Godi.e all believers man,woman or child) may be complete and proficient, outfitted and thoroughly equipped for every good work”‭2 TIMOTHY‬ ‭3:16‬-17 AMP
2. “For the word of God is living and active and full of power [making it operative, energizing, and effective]. It is sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating as far as the division of the soul and spirit [the completeness of a person], and of both joints and marrow [the deepest parts of our nature], exposing and judging the very thoughts and intentions of the heart.”
‭‭HEBREWS‬ ‭4:12‬ ‭AMP‬‬
3.“Oh, how I love Your law! It is my meditation all the day. Your commandments make me wiser than my enemies, For Your words are always with me. I have better understanding and deeper insight than all my teachers [because of Your word], For Your testimonies are my meditation. I understand more than the aged [who have not observed Your precepts], Because I have observed and kept Your precepts. I have restrained my feet from every evil way, That I may keep Your word. I have not turned aside from Your ordinances, For You Yourself have taught me. How sweet are Your words to my taste, Sweeter than honey to my mouth! From Your precepts I get understanding; Therefore I hate every false way. Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.”
‭‭PSALM‬ ‭119:97-105‬ ‭AMP‬‬
4.“So faith comes from hearing [what is told], and what is heard comes by the [preaching of the] message concerning Christ.”
‭‭ROMANS‬ ‭10:17‬ ‭AMP‬‬
5.“If anyone thinks and claims that he is a prophet [a true spokesman for God] or spiritually astute [filled with and energized by the Holy Spirit], let him recognize that the things which I write to you are the Lord’s commandment. If anyone does not recognize this [that it is a command of the Lord], he is not recognized [by God].”
‭‭1 CORINTHIANS‬ ‭14:37-38‬ ‭AMP‬‬
6.“A short time ago God chose you to follow him. He chose you through his grace that came through Christ. But now I am amazed that you are already turning away and believing something different from the Good News we told you. There is no other message that is the Good News, but some people are confusing you. They want to change the Good News about Christ. We told you the true Good News message. So anyone who tells you a different message should be condemned—even if it’s one of us or even an angel from heaven! I said this before. Now I say it again: You have already accepted the Good News. Anyone who tells you another way to be saved should be condemned! Now do you think I am trying to make people accept me? No, God is the one I am trying to please. Am I trying to please people? If I wanted to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.”
‭‭Galatians‬ ‭1:6-10‬ ‭ERV‬‬
7.“And there is another reason why we always give thanks to God. When we brought you God’s message, you heard it and accepted it, not as a message from human beings but as God’s message, which indeed it is. For God is at work in you who believe.”
‭‭1 Thessalonians‬ ‭2:13‬ ‭GNB‬‬
8.“Then Moses said to the people, “Obey all the laws that I am teaching you, and you will live and occupy the land which the LORD, the God of your ancestors, is giving you. Do not add anything to what I command you, and do not take anything away. Obey the commands of the LORD your God that I have given you.”
‭‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭4:1-2‬ GNB
9.“In the beginning the Word already existed; the Word was with God, and the Word was God. From the very beginning the Word was with God. Through him God made all things; not one thing in all creation was made without him. The Word was the source of life, and this life brought light to humanity. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has never put it out.”
‭‭John‬ ‭1:1-5‬ ‭GNB‬‬
10.“Be sure that the book of the Law is always read in your worship. Study it day and night, and make sure that you obey everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.”
‭‭Joshua‬ ‭1:8‬ GNB

Study the scriptures above and let the Word sink in your heart by meditation.Its not enough to know the scriptures and be able to quote them,go deeper than that,think over them throughout the day,ask the Holy Spirit to help you understand what the scripture mean,ask why God was saying that,to who and when and study the scriptures to understand not just read so you can say today I read my bible.|“Study and be eager and do your utmost to present yourself to God approved (tested by trial), a workman who has no cause to be ashamed, correctly analyzing and accurately dividing [rightly handling and skillfully teaching] the Word of Truth.”
‭‭2 Timothy‬ ‭2:15‬ AMPC |Pray that you and your husband may be able to understand and accept the authority in the Word of God and may there be a desire to find the truth from the Word not just follow what someone said.Pray for the desire to study and know the Word as a couple and be able to apply the Word in your marriage and family.Tomorrow,we will dig deep into this.

The end.

Leave a Reply

